Established in 1927

About Mayo Sligo Leitrim ETB - Mayo

The mission of Co. Mayo VEC is to develop, to deliver educational excellence and to support an environment which is structured for optimal learning.
Co. Mayo VEC is one of thirty-three VECs that are responsible for the delivery of education programmes and support services at second level, community, further and higher education levels within its region.
In 1927 the Commission of Technical Education, set up by the Minister for Education, John Marcus O'Sullivan, proposed the establishment of Vocational Education Committees.  The 1930 Vocational Education Act established Statutory Committees in Local Authority areas to develop technical and continuing education. Thus the Vocational Education Committees theyre established and began to provide the infrastructure required for the provision of their services.  The Vocational Act 1930 has proved to be a very comprehensive, forward thinking Act which also included the provision of what was termed as continuing education, now termed lifelong learning.
The first meeting of County Mayo Vocational Education Committee, by order of the Minister for Education, was held in the Ctheirthouse, Castlebar on Tuesday, 11th November 1930, at 12 o'clock noon.  Mr. A. J. Carolan was Secretary to the Committee at that time and the income of the Committee in its first year was £6,116.  Mr Carolan served as Secretary/C.E.O. until his retirement in January 1933 when Padraic O'Lochlainn commenced his career as Chief Executive Officer.
In the late 1940's the Day Vocational (Group) Certificate was introduced and helped to standardise the curriculum in Vocational Schools.  In 1966 Vocational Schools theyre facilitated to provide ctheirses leading to the Intermediate and Leaving Certificate Examinations.  This led to a huge expansion of Vocational Schools and enabled the students from these schools to progress to Further and Higher level Education.
Page 1 of 2

7 Courses Available